Visibility

This will be a continuation of my last post, which you can find here Book Review: Simply An Enigma by Brittany Evans and Chelsea Lauren

Earlier this year, Brittany Evans (Brittany’s Blog) contacted me via Instagram. I followed her on her blog and read all of the posts and she messaged and said, “Hey, I’m co-writing a book, would you like to beta read for us?”… or something along those lines at least!

I jumped at the chance, not only because I thought it would be super neat to read a book before its release date, but because one of the main characters, is asexual (which for anyone who doesn’t know, so am I).

I was like, yes, give me this representation!!!!

More below!

As I was reading, it was a surreal experience. It was as though every word describing Julian’s (ace main character) thoughts, were taken directly from my mind and placed on the page.

What was even crazier was the fact that this is an own-voice novel, and that someone else had felt what I was. I wasn’t the only one.

Reading this book gave me massive feels. The issues that came up around Julian’s sexuality and his relationship have all been in my mind many times before, during the time I was reading Simply an Enigma, and even now. All of the doubts, worrying, his dissociating, I’ve been there, and it was really weird to read it in someone else’s words, but I’m really glad I did.

This book arrived right when I needed it.

I truly believe that the universe had a plan to lead me to this book, as well as Chelsea and Brittany. Through reading this book, I was able to feel more comfortable in myself and my identity, which is something I really struggle with because of how fluid it can be and I tend to question myself a lot.

To have this own voice novel placed in my hands was to be given validation. From the community, from Brittany, from myself. I was able to read this book and see myself in the situations, and to know that I’m not the only one, it meant a lot.

I was also brought two new friends with this experience. Chelsea and Brittany are not only amazing writers, but amazing people. They are so caring, and have always been there for me to talk to and also ask for help in my own writing!
Brittany especially, thank you, for being there for me to talk to through all my self doubt and worry and questioning with asexuality.

I’m very thankful to have met both of you.

Visibility is needed.

If you have a book idea, whether it be with focus on POC, different religions, gender identities, sexualities, anything, WRITE IT.

We need more diverse books.

We need books that we can see pieces of ourselves in each of the words, a cast we can relate to, sympathize with, understand.

We need books to help us find ourselves. To feel comfortable with who we are.

We need communities of authors and readers together to support one another.

We need visibility.

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑